Ba-Na-Na!

December: Mono Meal Breakfast – Before we dive into my December challenge, I should probably explain why I skipped over writing about my October and November challenges.

For October I had listed that I would consume a different fruit per day, and November I was to eat a salad every day. Sadly, neither of those got ticked off.

October started off with  a huge variety of fruits in my fridge, and it was a great novelty to pick which one I’d eat that day – grapes, bananas, mangoes, kiwi, pears, apples, or oranges. I picked the odd plum or star fruit, but mostly rotated through those listed previously.

The reason it wasn’t ticked off though was because I skipped more than a few days, and often repeated a fruit on consecutive days. Performing those acts meant I failed this challenge.

November slipped a bit quicker than October. I whipped up a few different salads from simple green salads, to carrot and beetroot salads with oranges, and fruit salads, but the novelty of it faded as quickly as it had flared. Again, I skipped days which results in failing the challenge.

All in all, I wasn’t wholly upset with those failures. The failing part, yes, but those specific challenges didn’t get me down. It made me reassess my drive behind my challenges. Why did I decide to challenge myself? And, after that, were they really challenges?

To some extent, of course, but neither my October or November challenge really pulled me out of my comfort zone.

Which brings me to my December challenge – a Mono Meal Breakfast.

For those that don’t know a “mono meal” is simply consuming one whole food for the meal, as opposed to multiple foods at once like most do. I haven’t done any research into it, so I could be very wrong, but from the little I’ve heard of it the idea is to give your body a bit of a break by only asking it to do one thing at a time – in terms of digestion, of course.

I picked fruit, which most people do, so it was very simple with no preparation needed. I just woke up and started eating a bunch of bananas or a couple apples. And that was breakfast done.

From my personal experience, I didn’t feel as if there was any difference during the month. Maybe my body did? but from what I could tell, there was no change.

As I’ve mentioned a few times before, I eat a lot of fresh fruit and veggies so perhaps if I consumed more processed foods the change might have had a more significant impact. Who knows?

The lack of dishes was definitely a plus, though.

If anyone wants to give it a go, I’d recommend fruit for breakfast but could do any one food for any meals of the day. Maybe you’d notice more of a change than I did, even if it’s just from the lack of decision needed for that meal – you just pick one thing and that’s it, there’s no need to figure out what to pair with it etc.

Well, that’s it. Short and sweet! Thanks for reading, guys.

My next post will revisit all my 12 Monthly Challenges over the year and what impact they’ve had on my life so far – if any.

As always, questions and comments are welcome.

Leave a comment